Multiple System Failure aka Pity Party!

So I have days that should be dubbed Multiple System Failure days.  Things in my body just don’t seem to work.  Everyday is a struggle for me, to get out of bed, to do the things I need to do.  For those of you that don’t know me, I have a long laundry list of medical problems.  The one that tops the list is Fibromyalgia and some days it is complicated by a genetic disorder called Ehlers-danlos Syndrome

Many of the drugs for Fibro cause weight gain so I have been advised to steer clear of those.  Given this, my course of treatment is, low impact exercise (mostly water-based) anti-inflammitory drugs and an ocassional pain pill.  Some days I am fine, others not-so-much. 

One of the biggest thing I need to remember is that I have to remember to practice my Joint Protective Meaures.  When I wake up in the morning I snap crackle and pop more than a bowl of rice crispies! I grunt and groan as things pop and shift back into place.  Some days I just forget that I need to consciously keep my joints from hyperextending.  Some days they just plain give out.  I went to step out of bed today, as I do every morning, to start my day and Wham! Hyperextended knee.  PAIN! This on top of a flare of pain from my fibro has left me at home today waiting for the pain-killer to kick in.  Tylenol first, which didn’t touch anything.  Then something stronger. 

It really makes me feel like a failure when I have days like today.  I had every intention of doing a lot today!  I was supposed to workout, return a pie-plate, stop by and donate some toys and pet-food at thing, and what did I do… sit at home being bitchy and ice-ing down my knee. 

So what can I do to stop being so negative?  All I can think about are all the things I did not do today because I did not really DO anything today.  So now I sit in pain, wallowing in a miserable funk.  Spiralling downward.  This SUCKS!!!

Leave a Reply

