Snowmageddon!!!

Oh, I have a great idea Kris… Lets Move to MinneSNOWta!  It’ll be great dontchaknow! Okay, so I didn’t like the long lines at the store yesterday, or the people panicking over what has turned out to be more than a foot of snow.  Yes it sucks the white beast is upon us.  UGH! It always seems to strike on the weekends. This is great for people who work M-F and have weekends off.  However my major workday, and thusly my major bread-winning day is Saturday.  So when things like All flights into Minneapolis become diverted to Grand Forks it puts a kink in my plans. 

So about 3:15 we start shoveling out the above knee level snow that has accumulated overnight from the cars so we can get to the office… Our landlords will plow after the snow has stopped. That’s fine, I need my sleep, the snow is still falling/drifting/blowing.  My shovel is broken!!!

Add to this that the alleyway has not been plowed since last night… shortly after the snow started to fall… so there is a good 8 inches in the alley.  We need to use the alley to get to the street.  UGH! We live on a snow emergency route… So if we can get to the main road we are gold… I start work at 4:00.  Yeah right… To get from where I live to where I work is like 13 blocks… about a mile or so.  There were 2 cars stuck in the alley, with people trying to get them unstuck.  So Robb and I rocked my car out of the lot, out the alley, across another parking lot, and into a side street.  Got a running start and floored it onto the main road. 

We got to the office at 4:30.  I have NEVER been late to work in the 5 years I have had my job.  I did call and let the guy on know but still.  To make things even better the work lot had not been plowed.  So we had to trudge through above the knee snow!!! What a workout.  Hope no one needs anything from our warehouse because No one is getting through that lot tonight!

So the adventure continued, I needed fuel! But first, a swing thru Target on Lake Street… with a quick prayer to the snow gods to let the have a shovel left. and the heavens opened up and through the doors of the store there were still shovels. After trying to rock my car and such and not having a chance to fuel up last night, we tried to find a gas station on our way home  First one we went to Robb slid us into a snow bank trying to get to… We opted to head down Lake Street which was a bit more plowed to a Super America where we had a much easier time getting in and out of. 

We headed home, Getting stuck turning from the main road onto a side road where i hopped out and shoveled the street, seeing more abandoned cars stuck there.  Robb kept moving forward as I trudged behind trusty shovel in hand.  I continues to shovel the street and alley and parking lot to get us back home. 

It was an adventure.  Sadly we are stuck home until the alley and lot are plowed now.  The idiots that were stuck in the alley when we left have since abandoned their cars.  This means no plows will come down the alley until those cars have been towed.  So it may be Monday before we get out again.  So here I sit with the phones from work forwarded to my cell… but warm and safe. 

Snowmageddon go away! At least I can shovel this year! Last year I would have been too exhausted to even walk from the street to where Robb got the car to next!  

Remember if you are in Minneapolis we are in a Snow Emergency! Please move your cars!!!!

Leave a Reply

