Grinchy Christmas

How the Grinch Stole Christmas! (TV special)

Image via Wikipedia

For the second year in a row, someone has grinched my Christmas presents!  Last year I was able to quickly, post-Christmas nip it in the behind because the UPS guy that swiped my package made the mistake of marking the package for me, “Left in Garage” when in fact it was being delivered to a commercial business address.  This year someone swiped a package right out of the lobby of my apartment building. Thanks Amazon.com for branding your boxes, it’s great! Everyone knows you ordered from you! (Okay, I didn’t I ordered from Snackdirect.com but apparently they are fulfillment by Amazon) Thank you USPS for leaving a package in the lobby without confirming the recipient knowing it was there.  😦  It was left at 10:30 AM.  By 4:00PM when I went to get the mail it was gone.  SUCKY!

So since then I have been a bit bummed, a bit down.  The snow keeps piling up.  We had another 3-5 inches on top of the 22 or so we had.  I also am facing the on-call shift (took 3 tries there to not type shit!) for Christmas Eve of 14 hours 2pm-4am then a 12 hour shift with the phones and on call on Christmas 4pm to 4am.  I just can’t seem to get into the spirit of things. 

If work is slow Robb and I are supposed to go visit with his family, but we never know how work will be until it is happening.  I have a turkey breast and some fixin’s for our own holiday.  Nothing fancy. 

My wise cousin Eva told me the other day I need to try to reinvent Christmas for myself. Make it the holiday I want it to be.  I guess I don’t know what I want it to be.  A quiet night at home with out Blue USB Powered Christmas tree and turkey dinner and an On-demand fireplace seems like not a bad idea.  I just don’t know how to break my funk. 

I tried the mall, looking at the kids with Santa.  Listening to holiday music.  These things did not help.  The grinch stole my holiday and I want it back! Tonight I will settle in with a little National Lampoons Christmas Vacation.  If nothing else perhaps I will giggle and think of my dear cousins putting up lights, and the craziness that is my family. 

Maybe I just miss my family.  I ate all my tiny oranges last week, leaving none to enjoy Christmas morning.  We always got one in our stocking, not sure why but it was always there.  So was a bubblegummy-cherry Chapstick.  Well whatever happens, the holidays are nearly over.  The New Year is coming and with it brings more opportunities to change and welcome new things. 

Off to watch NetFlix and try and de-grinch!

Leave a Reply

