Splashy Splashy Crashy!

On a good week I take 4 classes a week, each about 50-55 mins.  They are what I do for weight-training/strength training.  Water has something like nine-times the resistance of air.  So it is a really great workout if you have bad joints or are just starting out with exercise.  (If you live near me and want to try it out I have some guest passes you can join me some night!)

Monday and Wednesday are taught by a very Mom-like teacher who oddly shares the same name as my mom.  She worries when I am not in class for any amount of time.  As do the other ladies in the class.  We are a family, a community.  Just like the bloggers these women support each other, whether it is potluck dinners to retirement parties.  How very very Minnesota eh? The class is a good pace, and a mix of shallow and deep water exercise.  We get our heart rates up with things like cross-country skiing in the water and jumping jacks.  We head to the deep water and work on our abdominals and our other muscles with the use of weights or sometimes noodles.  It is FUN!

Tuesdays is what I like to refer to as the hardcore class.  It is a deep-water class and you need to be prepared to work.  We do everything from swimming laps to trying to push ups on the edge of the wall.  This is a hard class.  Most of us use a float belt, I can do the exercises without them, however wearing one allows me to focus on my form.  This is not a class for the faint of heart.  You WILL work your ass off.  I LOVE this class. 

Thursdays however have become the thorn in my side.  The workout is always the same.  Monotony thy name is Thursday.  The workout is UBER BORING.  I can barely get my heart-rate up with the exercises the instructor has us do.  I push myself hard during class, afterall all these classes are do what you can do go at your own pace kind deals.  However it still isn’t enough.  I still go, I take the class, but this is like my night of, easy working out.  Do any of you have a class you take just to get it done but don’t click with the instructor because it just isn’t enough of a workout?

So tonight I readied myself for the gym.  Grabbed my suit and towel, and clothed to hit the elliptical after my swim.  Headed down to the car cleared off the snow from my car completely.  Yes front and back windshield, side windows in front and back, mirrors clear headlights free of snow, brake lamps etc.  I headed out to the gym, the alleyway was slick from the fresh snow on top of the ice and packed snow.  I headed down the road, saw the first car run the stop sign.  This is a usual occurence.  No one seems to understand that those stop signs are actually there for a reason.  I proceed down the road, as I don’t have stop signs. getting up to a whole like 10 MPH approaching the second intersection and guess what… someone runs that stop sign too.  I apply the brakes but she was not only running the stop sign but running it in the wrong lane. (she would have hit any oncoming car!)  CRUNCH!  I had no stop sign, she ran hers, no one was injured.  Her toddler was not in a car seat.  What a freaking mess!  I ask for her license and insurance info only to find out… she is not insured… and her license has the corner clipped.  (making it invalid) 

What a mess!  So I didn’t make it to the gym.  Instead I came home, by the time I got her address and phone number and her man showed up to explain that they were “going to pay for it they promise”  and “stop by tomorrow and we can go take it for an estimate at their friends shop” I had already missed the start of my class. 

I am not an emotional eater but for some reason tonight I just REALLY want to sit down and curl up with a bag of junk food and veg out in front of the tv. I will be making up for my lack of a workout with what would have been an extra workout on Saturday.  But UGH!!! So frustrating.  So I will alternate my Diet Root beer and water while I bake my stress away and avoid the potato chips!

2 thoughts on “Splashy Splashy Crashy!

    • I was stunned at the no carseat. And the dad(?) that took the kid afterward didnt put the child in one either. I wish I could turn them in for that because I fear for that childs safety!! I have no kids but isnt 4ft9 the magic number or something like that they still need atleast a booster and this was a little kid. *deep breath*
      I am focusing on everyone is ok. I have a few bruises on my leg but my insurance guy said he talked to them today and they were still ok.

Leave a Reply

