One Breath One Post Take Three

Losing Weight Without Losing Your Mind

This is where Jen took back over again.  Jen laughed and said the trick to losing weight without losing your mind is actually not letting the people around you know you have lost your mind.  I can totally relate to this because I have people who I thought were my friends telling me that I am insane when I now spend hours at a time in the gym.  That hurts my feelings.  Whether it is as a joke or serious my life has changed.

So now echoing in my head are Jen’s words. 

  •  Take responsibility for your own life. It is only you the you are responsible for.  Others do not get to judge me for my decisions
  • Use your resources and do not feel guilty about it. 
  • Move forward with no regrets.
  • You define you own success! You make your own success!
  • Do not be ashamed to customise order menu items when you are out to eat.  The server really doesn’t care if you want something a little different.  The kitchen staff these days is very used to making things differently because of the dietary restrictions of people these days.  Think of all the food allergies etc.  If you are that concerned over it, leave a bigger tip.
  • Break it down! Face things one small decision at a time.  Just because your decision right now wasnt the best, or perfect decision just fix it next time.  You cannot change the past, you just keep moving forward.
  • Never say Never.  Take the restrictions away.  The only reason you should deny yourself something is if you do not want it.  Make it a decision not a restriction.  I choose not to have (whatever).  Do not say I can’t have alfredo sauce, say I choose not to have alfredo sauce at this point because that creamy sauce is a trigger food that causes me to binge etc. 
  • It is okay to buy something take a bite and throw it away if all you wanted was a bite.
  • Take responsibility.  Make your choice and follow through with it.
  • It is okay to make deals with yourself.  Learning to compromise is a part of life.  I think of it as a balancing act I can have my cake and eat it too! I can eat my cake, but then I need to go to the gym afterwards.
  • Allow yourself to feel your feelings.  Feel them, express them!  Everyone who has been to a grocery store on a weekend has seen a child throw a tantrum.  If you need to throw one and whine about how bad your day is. DO IT.  Feel those feelings!! Once you are done with your tantrum it is time to put your big girl panties on Suck it up princess and do what you need to do.
  • Working on the emotions is not as easy as eating right but it is a component of the journey.
  • Food should not have all the power that it has been given.  Why is food so powerful?  Food is social food is comfort. 
  • Are you really hungry?  Is it a craving?  How in touch with your body are you? Can you put that handful of cereal back in the bowl for 30 seconds? how about 5 mins?  have a drink of water set the clock for 5 mins and come back to it.  Are you really in touch with your body?  I know I am not. I have been struggling with this since the beginning.  I go from zero-to-starving in no time.  I also get mouth hungry (cravings) that I just can’t seem to break.
  • If you can’t stop yourself from putting that Oreo in your mouth, don’t beat yourself up, sit down and think about why you did it, remember contrary to popular belief, NO ONE NEEDS AN OREO!

What Kind of Resources Do you Have?

As you go through this journey your core group of friends may change.  You may very likely not be calling those couch potato friends of yours. This is not a reflection on them.  People grow and change, you may not want to sit and hang out shoving handfuls of popcorn into your mouth in the darkness of a theater as you learn how good it feels to push your body to its limits in the gym.  I have gone through this I have very few friends, luckily I am making contacts through my blog and at the gym that will hopefully lead to a great group of friends.

  • Set yourself up for success. 
  • Surround yourself with people who you will want to emulate.  People who make good decisions will influence your decisions.
  • Fake it `till you make it! 
  • Write it down.  Document it all, Keeping a journal helps provide a record of all kinds of things, food journals and blogs both provide insight about a bigger picture of what is going on in your life. 
  • Document you successes and struggles. 
  • Let yourself feel it! Allow yourself to experience EVERYTHING! Stop denying your feelings and DO NOT eat them!
  • Reach out for help!
  • Even on bad days you have to face your struggles.  By facing those struggles and recording them you set yourself up for success. 
  • Do what YOU need to do to be successful.
  • It is okay to take your own food with you when you go places.  If others are uncomfortable with it that is their problem. 
  • Customise your schedule to make it work for you.  Plan Plan Plan!
  • You do not need to use all your resources all the time.  You can mix and match them to make what works for you.

Jen did an AMAZING job with this event.  The goodie bag came with a lunch kit container some Barney Butter (my very fave almond butter of all!)  A Polar Discount code, some Coach Oats and some other things.  I don’t think many of us understand how much work goes into putting one of these events together.  I am so thankful that she was willing to put this together for us at the beginning of the year.  What a great way to kick off the New Year. 

After the event Jen, Carlos, Ann and I went to lunch at Victor’s 1959 Cafe in Minneapolis.  Which happens to be a place Guy Fieri from the food Network had visited for Diners Drive-in’s and Dives.  The food was sooo good! I will definitely be going back there.  The conversation was really nice.  I had a lovely time getting to know everyone also.  I hope my lack of sleep didn’t leave me rambling too much.  By lunchtime I had been up for somewhere in the 26 or 27 hour range of time. 

 I am very much looking forward to meeting up with the contacts and new friends that I have made in the last few months.  I want to do everything I can to support people on their journeys.  I have come a long way and still have a long road ahead of me.  So my offer stands, if you are in the Twin Cities, or passing through and want to grab coffee or dinner or go for a walk and chat contact me! I will share my story, I want to hear yours! The more we share the more we understand and learn.

Sadly my camera is crap, after the 6 years or so that it has been around I think this may be its last event.  Most of the photos are blurry and sad so I will spare you them. There is a photo of Stacy and one of Paul in my Flickr! but I did manage one good photo…

PFG Gang

Jen, Lindsay, Elle, JP

 

7 thoughts on “One Breath One Post Take Three

  1. A great read. A lot of things I knew, a lot were food for thought, and others I needed a reminder that I knew them. 🙂 Great photo, I wish you’d been in it, though – you have a lot to show off after what you’ve accomplished.

    I hope we can meet soon. I am actually considering going out to Mall of America on Saturday to see Biggest Loser trainer Bob. I feel goofy doing it, but you never know who you’ll meet that will inspire you. Are you working that day?

    • Yeah, I am sadly working Saturday and am SO bummed over it. I would give anything for a chance to meet Bob! You should go!! I am really in favor at this point of doing anything and everything that might just give you that opportunity to spark something! You never know where that piece of motivation is going to come from that will push you just a little bit in the right direction to go a little further a little more.
      We will have to set up a night to get together. Dinner or coffee of something. Just put it on the calender and do it, otherwise… pardon my mouth but shit just dosent get done! We all know how this ends up… eating right exercising etc. put it off for so long it just wont happen. Are any nights better for you than others? Lets do this! (god I sound like a pusher! I really am sane I swear)

      • I didn’t go meet Bob. I decided I just didn’t want to deal with crowds and all that stuff. Some days I feel really social, other days I withdraw back into my fat girl shell. Working on that, and hope I get another opportunity one day.

        Still would love getting together with you, though! Are nights better for you? And where would be a good place to meet? Any chance you could make it up to Roseville, or is that too much of a jog? I would say any night could be doable for me, with some advance notice. Let me know what you’re thinking, and where. 🙂

      • Thats okay that you didnt go see Bob, looks like it was a zoo from the photos I have seen.
        Evenings are great for me, during the week is better, Fridays are doable but less favorable Saturdays are pretty much a no-go unless I can talk Robb into working for me for a while. Roseville isn’t too far for me at all. I drive for a living so really, unless we are talking Duluth or Bemidji the twin cities isnt too bad for me. So we can easily set something up that works with your schedule and mine I am guessing! OoO its exciting!!!! *happy bounce* new friends!!! Its exciting!!!!

Leave a Reply

