SnOwhat?

Snow what so what! Get it? It’s a lame attempt at humor but really it is no laughing matter.  Once again Minnesnowta has been hammered with snow.  Clearly the blame is to be placed on the KARE 11 weather man Sven Sundgaard who said the words of winter is behind us.  Although he maintains he was only speaking of temperatures I stand by the fact that you screwed us! 😀 Between you and that groundhog I think spring will never actually come!

So yesterday (Sunday) is my big day of from work.  Robb and I usually spend the day doing mundane things like grocery shopping and just normal things like hanging out.  With the impending snowageddon (V2.0?) as the tweeps had dubbed it Saturday night towards the end of my shift I stopped at the store and grabbed spaghetti fixin’s. 

Sunday was spent with the curtains pulled shut sipping tea and trying to relax.  It was a bad day.  I had some bad news about a friend passing away, and my childhood cat being sick and likely needing to be put down this week. It was a rough night. We had a big dinner of spaghetti and sausage, my sauce was full of veggies, lots of squash and garlic.  It was divine!!! Fresh garlic bread and I managed to not overeat!  Victory!!! I took a small plate of food, ate it, and when I couldn’t decide if I was still hungry I set a tier for 5 mins still could not decide and I ultimately decided I must not be since I was not sure. 

So today Minneapolis finally declared a snow emergency.  This means the landlords come and plow the parking lot.  This also means I don’t get a full nights sleep.  Luckily MnDot has been out plowing since the storm started, at some point a plow went up our alley and pushed a wake of snow in front of my car.  So I got to dig my car out this afternoon and as I dug it out I was weighing my options for the day.

Should I go to the gym?  Does clearing my car and digging out the little bit that I needed to shovel this time count as a workout?  What if the lot at the YWCA isnt plowed?  What if I get stuck driving between here and there?  What if I get there and they are closed?  Do I really feel like going? 

0221011741

YWCA Midtown

 

What does that paragraph sound like?  That’s right! Fat Lazy Lame-ass Kris coming out to play in the snow again!  Oh HELL NO!!!! Suck it up Princess, I looked on Facebook to see if anything had been posted about the gym being closed.  Nothing, they posted when they closed early yesterday.  So guess what princess, it is a gym day.  NO EXCUSES!

Doin My Thing Going To the Gym!

Doin My Thing Going To the Gym!

So when I got to the gym… they were open! The parking lot was fairly empty!  What happened to all those January joiners? Where are all my pals?  Even last week the lot was full!  Did the snow keep you away?  I am okay with that! I got a great parking spot, not too close not too far.  I got my pick of the best lockers in the locker room.  I took 5 mins to relax in the sauna before venturing into the pool area.  No one was in there as the heat met my body like an old friend.  So nice after this weather.  10 minutes before my class started I figured I would poke my head into the pool area.  Usually the pool is full of people doing laps, or kids splashing up a storm.  It was empty.  Some of the lanes had been moved already so into the water I went!  I started my workout early!  Only 3 of us showed up!  Apparently at the morning water aerobics class there was only 1 person that showed up!!! Talk about getting bang for your membership-buck one on one water aerobics class!!!

Class was great, I enjoy the big classes, and I missed seeing my regular friends but the small classes really give us a chance to focus and work hard.  We are really going to focus on some core work in the next few weeks.  Should be great I can use some work in that area. (Can’t we all?)  After class the pool had no one in it except me.  I did some laps, then someone else joined me in the pool for a private swim lesson.  Still 2 people in the whole pool.  That is awesome!  I had a great workout, what a reward for telling myself to Suck it up!

Old Kris, you didn’t win this time!  You got slammed!  No Excuses No Regrets!

5 thoughts on “SnOwhat?

  1. Very well done on sucking it up and getting in for your workout. And glad you were rewarded with a nearly empty pool – AWESOME!!

    You have my condolences on the passing of your friend, and the illness of your poor kitty. 😦 Chin up and hang in there. I am so impressed by how well you have learned to stick to what you know is good for you even when you are struggling emotionally. You ROCK, sistah!

  2. Yay! For getting out in the snow and going to the gym… I don’t think I would have done that 🙂 I can’t believe how much snow you’ve gotten this year. We didn’t get more than a few inches.

Leave a Reply

