Give it Up!

So when I brought up the idea of giving up soda for Lent to Robb he laughed and said I can’t give up soda for Lent because we don’t celebrate it.  I said okay I will give it up for Lint.  We have a lot of that. So I have a question for you all, is it wrong to give something up for Lent if you don’t understand or celebrate the religious reasons that surround it?  I hope no one is offended by my trying to better myself with this.

In my quest to obtain my #7daychip I have been trying to up my water intake.  I figure perhaps the best way to up my water intake is to get rid of the other things that I drink.  Mainly my diet soda.  I am not giving it up for good.  I like the bubbles too much.  I also am not swapping it for regular soda, I cannot stomach the taste of it. 

So I am about to embark on a VERY difficult journey for me.  I know my headaches will go on for longer than they should because I will not be able to reach for a soda to ease them.  I know my standing order at Trivia night will have to be halted as I wont be downing Diet Coke’s one after another.  I am looking at this as a chance for my body to perhaps detox, maybe?  We shall see what I can do.  This is not a punishment but a gift to my body. 

So there we have it!  I am about to try something I have not done before.  Will you be giving anything up for Lent? or in the case of our non-traditional house Lint?

7 thoughts on “Give it Up!

  1. I think you know I am Catholic and partaking in Lent. 40 days of sacrifice is always good for anyone. No matter what you believe. I support you! Go for it girl!

  2. lint. that’s awesome. i love it!
    The sacrifices during Lent are symbolic of the sacrifice of Life that Jesus gave to us, etc. etc. to that end, i believe that ANYONE is entitled to sacrifice something whenever they want. (not WHAT/WHO ever, just WHEN ever. are we clear? whew….)
    The only thing that I have given up that I have ever been able to maintain is “giving up giving up things for Lent”. Total cop-out to be sure, if only a little funny. a little? no? meh.
    long story short (“too late!”), i am not offended by your sacrifice. or your lint.

  3. I think you have a great idea. Giving up something that isn’t good for you doesn’t have to be for religious reasons. It can just be for health reasons. Love your Lint analogy! Hope your headaches decrease as you up your water intake. Headaches can be from dehydration too, but I know headaches are a side affect from lack of caffine, which your diet coke surely contains. Here’s to better health! I am trying to increase my activity/exercise after being inactive for months. Tired, sore, tired, sore…..

  4. I don’t give up anything…but I certainly know how difficult it would be to give up diet coke. I think it is admirable and wish you the best of luck. You can do it 🙂

  5. I am currently trying to surrender my sweet, bubbly Diet Coke to the past addiction gods this week. Maybe we can help each other out.

    I haven’t had a DC since Saturday, and I am doing surprisingly well. Very light headache today, but I am so happy to be doing it. I have had two diet root beers, though. Once I can kick the caffeine, I will move to the rest!

Leave a Reply

