I Love Lucy

''I Love Lucy

Image via Wikipedia

“The more things you do, the more you can do!” ~ Lucille Ball

There has been a theme within my mind the last few days.  Really ever since the whole founding night of “The Pack”  That quote from Lucille Ball echos through my head quite frequently throughout my journey.  The more I do, the more I can, do the more I will do!  So I want to share some of her wisdom with you today just because I think she was a REALLY smart lady!

 I don’t know a lot about Lucy, but I remember sitting watching I Love Lucy as a kid.  Obviously not when it originally aired, but in reruns.  Seriously I cannot watch this show and not laugh out loud.  It has been parodied time and again in all sorts of pop culture shows including Roseanne! I think it is a safe bet that most people have seen at least an episode or two of the show. 

One of the most iconic episodes, or at least most parodied episodes is one set in a chocolate factory where they wrap chocolates on a conveyor belt.  During one of the scenes in this episode the belt starts speeding up and as I was on the treadmill today working on my c25k workout visions of it going WAY too fast for me to keep up with.  As I pushed the run button on the RUN 4.0 mph button, then ramped up the speed a little more because it was not going fast enough for a run.  I pushed harder than I thought I could, and did it. 

I would rather regret the things that I have done than the things that I have not“~Lucille Ball

So I pushed through the run, despite my sore left hip.  Despite not being able to pickup my running shoes today.  Perhaps it is my new red hair that is drawing me back to my Lucy roots, perhaps it is just a new phase in my progress helping me grow stronger, to know I can do this, push the doubt away.  I got into the locker room after my “run” and was getting ready for my water class and was ready to cry from the pride I felt.  Yes I was being gawked at in the gym.  A 260 pound chick running intervals on the treadmill is bound to attract attention but I don’t care!  I didn’t notice it until I was leaving and the guy on the treadmill next to me was surprised that I had gone further than he did in the same amount of time.  When did this become a competition, because I will crush you!

“It’s a helluva start, being able to recognize what makes you happy”~Lucille Ball

So my adventures in 5k have been enlightening.  I have found while I am not a huge fan of running, perhaps as I build some endurance and get better shoes, and for the love of god a better bra I will enjoy it more.  Even if I don’t enjoy the running I do enjoy walking which is more than I could say before.  I am looking forward to trips to other places where I can walk around and look at the scenery take photos and just enjoy the fresh air. 

So I leave you with this last thought…

“Love yourself first and everything falls into line”~Lucille Ball

So give yourself a great big hug today! Yes it is cheesy, but tell yourself I LOVE YOU! It is the best thing you can do for yourself.

One thought on “I Love Lucy

Leave a Reply

