Get Your Walk on!

Did you know that today April 6th is actually a REALLY big day! Not only is it the Birthday of Mr Goat (The husband to our very own #PriorFatPack’s Liz) but it is National Start Walking Day!!! 

So have you walked today?  I woke up with excruciating pain in my knee and back among other places.  I had big plans for today that included trying to pound out a 5k before my water aerobics class.  As I tried to step out of bed and walk around my apartment a bit to make breakfast I knew that would not be happening.  I felt defeated.  I sent a note out into the twitterverse that c25k would likely not commence today. 

One of the things I deal with alongside my battle with weight is Fibromyalgia and ehlers-danlos.  Now, the thing about fibromyalgia is, the pain while it is real pain, it isn’t caused by anything being busted.  It is just my nerves being too sensitive.  The E-D on the other hand can also cause major pain and can be dangerous because of the looseness that accompanies it with my joints.  So I am constantly battling to determine which pains are linked to what.

So I decided to take some Tylenol and my anti-inflammitory pills and head to the gym and get my walk on anyway.  I pounded out my c25k, I did every excruciating moment of it! I prayed for the walk now command! I was not going to let myself down.  I was not going to let the #PriorFatPack down. I walked and ran through the suckage!

So as I walked I was thinking about how little time I have spent in my life actually walking.  For years I was on crutches from broken bones and surgeries and became accustomed to being dropped off at the door.  I would always look for parking spots closest to the doors of stores.  I would drive around a parking lot for 15 minutes just to avoid parking too far away.  Wow! Was I ever lazy!

So I just want to share a few of the benefits of walking that perhaps will encourage those of you that aren’t yet moving and grooving to park a little further away, or maybe take a post dinner stroll.

  • It reduces your risk of dying from heart disease or stroke
  • It lowers your risk of heart disease, stroke, high blood pressure, colon cancer, and diabetes
  • It lowers high blood pressure
  • Helps you handle stress
  • Helps you feel more energetic
  • Helps you sleep better
  • Improves your self-esteem  
  • It protects against falling and bone fractures in older adults
  • It may help protect against certain types of cancer, such as breast cancer
  • Helps you lose weight!!!

So do you need an idea of where to get started walking?  The American Heart Association has a great interactive map that will help you find a walking path!  I think as I get ready to visit my family in May I will use this to find a place to continue my training for the #PriorFatPack 5k while I am there! Also if you want to join our team for the 5k drop me a note I will send you an email with the password for the team.

 Remember I am not a health professional, check with your doctor before beginning any exercise program! This information is not intended to treat diagnose cure you etc.

One thought on “Get Your Walk on!

Leave a Reply

