Forever Young

Last night I learned something very valuable.  Birthdays do not have to be horrible days of lonesome mourning of bad decisions and years of wasted time.  I woke up to so many birthday wishes from friends on my Facebook that I actually teared up.  Comments on my blog and twitter streamed in along with more comments on Facebook during the rest of the day that solidified the fact that I really truly am blessed to be where I am in my life.  Phone calls from friends near and far and texts came in into the evening.  I have never had such an outpouring of … well what I would call love and friendship EVER in my life.

IMAG0071951309983125722.jpgI went about my day getting things done that I needed to, calling my parents, picking up cheesecake, making a few phone calls that I promised.  Misty (you all know Misty, my sister from another Mr?) had her arm twisted so badly by me that she had to get some cake of her own! (That photo right there is HER celebratory cake for me!!!) I hit up the bookstore today, to get another book.  I need to finish Confessions of a Carb Queen, and pass that along (That will be another giveaway!!! But have you entered my current one?  There will be surprises in that favor bag!!! ), but I always check out the used book stores, they are just neat.

It was a special night, you only turn 30 once, so Corryn and I decided it was going to be a dress wearing night!  I had planned on wearing a dress anyway.  Two days in a row with the dresses! Oh My!  Little black dress was originally purchased as a way to mourn my 30th birthday… boy was I in for a surprise.  I got dressed up and headed to Caribou Coffee and claimed my free coffee before I heading to FujiYa for the joint Birthday Party with Corryn!

From the moment I got to FujiYa and saw Deanna in the parking lot, I started to feel better.  By the time the night ended… Boy oh Boy I must confess… I laughed so hard I nearly peed myself!  We donned our Birthday headbands, I was channeling aliens with mine, and settled into party mode.  The conversation flowed so freely among the group.  There ended up being 7 of us at the party.

Birthday girls

Birthday Girls!

  We sat talking for a long time, wondering if anyone else would show up.  It was just amazing how much my night improved with every passing joke.  The double entendre factor was high, the “That’s what she said” jokes were out in full force.  It was an adult party for sure.  If laughter keeps you young then I think we all aged backwards tonight, we sure were acting like a crazy bunch of kids!  I definitely think that laughter is the best medicine!  As my mood fluxed a few times about being 30 over the last few days I wondered what the actual day would end up feeling like.

sushiI am not sure what my favorite part of the night was, my friends, the endless laughter, the sushi, the ice-cream, but I do know that I have NEVER had a birthday like this before.  I wish I had known that they could be like this.  I want to have more birthdays like this!  It as amazing to share time with my friends.  I love the energy that just flows from us when we are together.

So I handed out party favors, “30 Sucks” lollipops.  They sort-of go along with the whole nights theme of sucking, flowering, deflowering, #creamywhitesauce, offensive words like moist and panties, licking, eating heads, and other wonderfully awful innocent twisted things.  I truly feel blessed to have each and every person in my life, in my life.

I envision a lot of things happening in the next bunch of years… and this group of crazy weird people are going to be an amazing incredible part of it.  So if you stopped by yesterday, or tweeted, sent a text, called, sent a card, Facebooked, or thought of me, You have my gratitude.  You gave me the most amazing birthday I have ever had!

See you all again… Same time next year? Cookout perhaps at one of the local parks?

6 thoughts on “Forever Young

  1. I am glad you had an amazing day! See, 30 doesn’t have to suck! Next summer… we will party all summer long! Mer’s birthday is first (the week before Memorial Day) and Sara E’s birthday is over Labor day weekend I believe. Scratch that… we can celebrate ALL YEAR LONG! 😉

  2. I’m so glad you have a wonderful day! Sounds like a super fun party! Age is just a number, and you’ve clearly gotten younger through your new lifestyle. You should celebrate all year!

  3. I wish I could have been there to celebrate with you! Happy Happy Birthday. My 30s have been fabulous so far so I’m sure yours will too!

  4. Another pretty dress! (Sorry, dresses get me a little excited!) And I love the pic of you and Corryn — the hats make it even more awesome!

    I can’t think of anyone more deserving of such a memorable and joy-filled birthday… I only wish I could have been there. But we’ll celebrate you soon enough — we’ll have so much fun next weekend! xoxo

Leave a Reply

