Logistics or Lazyness

Escalator Please

So for those of you who have been away from blog-world on Vacation recently you may have missed the fact that I went to my very first Minnesota Twins game back on July 4th.   One of the things I neglected to mention in my recap from my wild adventure was my utter shock and dismay at the fact that there are escalators inside Target Field.  I was all set, knowing full well that our seats were up at the very top of the stadium, to have to hike up an ass-ton of stairs.  I expected to get sweaty.  I expected my knees to ache.  I expected to earn my right to claim that seat as my own.  Instead as people pushed and shoved their way past the gates and into the stadium we were herded onto the escalators.

What the cluck?!

My mind started freaking out…. Seriously?  Have we really gotten so lazy that we no longer get a choice to take the stairs at the stadium?  I can TOTALLY understand the need for accessibility for people in wheelchairs and people who need assistance (walkers, canes, crutches I’ve spent enough time laid up to know we need those things at times).  I was just in awe of the fact that there were so few stairs.

I mulled over the escalators for a while, and concluded that they are not there to encourage lazy behavior.  They are there for logistic reasons.  Right?  To get people in and out of the stadium faster.

So I was wracking my brain trying to figure out what else in our lives is a logistical strategical choice that gets us where we need to go.  For some people it is having a personal trainer, for others it is prepackaged meals like nutrisystem  for some it is frozen dinners [Lean Cuisines (mmm Love those Thai Spring Rolls!)] They are not the most ideal choice to get where you are going.

It also seems almost a bit like a metaphor for this big journey we are all on… lots of ways to get to where we need to go… some faster than others… some easier than others, but they all utilize different methods and all have their upsides and downsides.  It is just something to keep in the back of your mind.

5 thoughts on “Logistics or Lazyness

  1. That is interesting! I haven’t been in a stadium, yet, that has escalators. And I say yet because the new Orlando Magic Amway Center has escalators. I want to believe it’s more about logistics and people moving rather than laziness. But who knows anymore!

  2. Very interesting. I think that the the change in trying to be faster and more convenient has really let our country in a place where it is hard to get in daily activity. No stairs. No breaks. No focus on activity.

    I’ve never thought about it that way, but you are totally correct!

  3. The timing of this post is sweet irony. Today at my WW meeting, we made a dream list of things that would make this weight loss journey easier. A personal chef made the list. My leader pointed out how Oprah Winfrey, with all of her money and resources, still struggles with her weight. I had never thought of that. Interesting, isn’t it?

  4. No stair option? Really? What if there was a fire? Power outage? I think I’d prefer regular stairs to climb down in those instances, because climbing escalator stairs scares me. They’re all jaggy, and I worry about scraping my cankles on the edges. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

