Sweat Monster!

Enjoy your sweat because hard work doesn’t guarantee success, but without it you don’t have a chance. ~Alex Rodrigues

Old friend, it has been a while. Since I began my 5k training I haven’t been putting my heart and soul into my workouts. Let’s be honest, the 5k was a diversionary tactic. It served two purposes for me. First, it was on my 2011 bucket list (along with sushi, riding the lightrail, going to a baseball game and a few other things). Second it allowed to me stop focusing on the fact that I can’t break out of the 250lb range.

I would say I stayed on track with my food choices within reason, eating the right things, making good choices, eventually as I was still stuck plateaued I gave up tracking what I was eating. BIG MISTAKE. Why was it a mistake? Did I regain a ton of weight? Well no, I proved that I can maintain my weight and have a life… but it has been like pulling teeth to get back to tracking 100%.

I will admit, I have a problem, I think, with moderation. I can’t do things just a little bit. As I prepped my breakfast this morning I eyed my kitchen scale as I pulled out my sandwich thin. I thought heavily about the consequences of heading back down the weigh the bread route and slapped it on the plate. I did weigh out the almond butter. Sorry a “Tablespoon” isn’t going to cut it when it comes to some things. I know I need to focus on keeping track of everything that I eat. I don’t think I am missing things, but I am also not being able to find where I am stumbling anymore. No behavior patterns to look at along with food consumption. No way to seeing when I am going through heavy phases of nothing but almond butter sandwiches, or heavy bouts of Hummus and carrotts. It also doesn’t let me know when foods are creating lower energy levels for my workouts.

So this week I kicked off the “Back on Track” week. One solid week of being accountable 100% to myself, and to others. One week of giving everything I can to myself because I am worth it. It seems like there are a lot of people ready to jump on the bandwagon and recommit to fit! I think this is awesome and I am proud to be a part of it.

So what exactly did Monday look like in my corner of the world?

Breakfast: 300 calories

  • Iced Raspberry Latte (Yes Misty, Ghetto Style)
  • Barney Butter (Almond Butter) and Jelly on Sandwich Thin

Lunch: 200 Calories

  • Granola Trail Mix Bar

Dinner: 600 calories

  • Garlic Chicken Pasta Toss

Snacks: 350 Calories

  • Holy Lady Garlicy Hummus
  • Baby Carrots
  • Black Thai Iced Tea from Caribou Coffee (artificially sweetened)
  • Edys Slowchurned Coconut Pineapple Ice Cream

So that ends up around 1450-1500 give or take depending on the number of grams that damned sandwich thin weighed!

I also headed to the gym today to put in an honest to goodness workout with my heart in it!

  • 2.75 miles on the Elliptical Trainer (30 mins)
  • 5.75 miles on the Recumbent Bike (28 mins)
  • Aqua Power Water Aerobics Class (55 mins)
  • Slow treading/water aerobics (35 mins)

So all in all I think Monday was successful! Today my BodyFitMedia device is supposed to come. I will likely not set that up until Wednesday, but expect a few tweets and posts about how that is working out. I do have plans for Water Aerobics today plus a walk before class or at least another go-round with that elliptical. I have missed it very much!

For now I leave you with the Sweat Monster! My trophy for wiping the cobwebs off the equipment that was put into storage while I trained for my 5k’s! Good luck today everyone!

SweatMonster

See the Sweat!

5 thoughts on “Sweat Monster!

  1. Good for you for getting back on track! I’m also learning that I can maintain well, which is promising for the future, but for now, there is work to do!

    I’m so impressed with how much exercise you can squeeze into your day!

  2. what the hey man…I totally commented this from my phone this morning and apparently wp ate my comment…or the phone did 😦

    anywho….

    WOW thats some serious exercising…how long were you at the gym. I just cant put that much time in at once I have to do more days and less time each day. Great workout just dont overdo it 🙂

  3. Look at that sweaty tee – RAWWRRRR! Love it!

    I am so proud of you, and admire the way you are able to look at what you’re doing and be completely honest with yourself. It makes me aware of the lies and justifications I try to pass off as truth. Thanks for being you. Looking forward to the weekend! Whooooo!

  4. Woohoo!! You rocked out your day!

    I’m glad I got you a Caribou card for your bday, heehee, Miss Kris likes her Caribou! 🙂

    Oh, I have never weighed stuff like bread slices, unless its sliced at a bakery or I slice it. I’ve never even thought of that. I also don’t weigh things like bananas or apples, I just go with “medium banana” or “small apple” or what have you…it hasn’t seemed to cause a problem in my weight loss, I think you’re good skipping the bread weighing! 🙂 I do agree on the PB weighing though, I have 16g of PB every morning on my high fiber whole grain toast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

