100 Calorie Snack Packs

So in an effort to get under 250 pounds I have been working to change my eating habits a bit.  What worked to help me get the first 170 pounds off seems to not want to work right now.  So I am changing things up breaking my meals into smaller bits of food over the day, focusing once again on less processed things and trying whole nutrient tracking.

When I look at my whole diet I find I have too many calories, in my opinion coming from fat.  I don’t have enough protein in my diet and far too many carbohydrates.  Fruits and veggies are great, but I think I need to work on my balance. Balance in my life is very tricky, did you know I fell going UP the steps on Wednesday night?  Yep! I am that smooth!

So I asked my doctor for a few ideas of foods that are around 100 calories that I can chomp before and after my workout.  That way I can eat something before and after my workout and feel fueled.  So here are a few of the ideas I came up with that are, well not exactly 100 calories but close.

  • Apple (medium)
  • Almonds (3 tablespoons)
  • Banana (medium)
  • Funky Monkey dried fruit
  • 1/2 cup Cottage Cheese (low-fat kind)
  • Hard Boiled Egg
  • Grapes (2 cups)
  • Lean Deli Lunchmeat (Ham or Turkey 2 ounces)
  • 1 Tbsp Peanut Butter or Almond Butter
  • Pineapple (1 cup)
  • Plum (medium-large)
  • 100-calorie pack popcorn
  • Pretzels
  • Yogurt (Chobani Champions)

So what do you snack on?  I don’t love the idea of snacking… but I think I am going to need to suck it up and give this a try for a while.  Do you have a secret food that keeps you going?  Help a girl out!

9 thoughts on “100 Calorie Snack Packs

  1. Green Smoothies! 100 calories

    1 cup Spinach
    1/2 cup frozen or fresh strawberries
    (really any fruit can be used – banana, orange, mango etc.)
    3 TBS Greek Non-Fat Yogurt
    1/4 cup juice (orange, carrot etc.)

    I put all of that in a magic bullet or blender and you have an instant 100 calorie power smoothie.

  2. I usually try to stick with fruits or yogurt for snacks. Sometimes I’ll have hummus with pretzels or veggies. It all depends if I’m looking for a salty or sweet snack.

    P.S. Thanks for checking on me since I’ve been away from the blog world.

  3. snacking is actually really important. it keeps your metabolism revved up and is psychologically good- you don;t feel like you can’t eat- and then at some point fall off the wagon. also eating TOO LITTLE calories is counterproductive… so basically- snacking is GREAT. rice crackers have 30 calories each… a great snack would be 2 with 1tbsp peanut butter… why are you only eating 100 cals? Did a nutritionist tell you that? If not… i wouldnt be afraid to eat a little more then 100 calories. i try keep my snacks around 200. (also 2 cups of grapes sounds like a lot more then 100cal…i could be wrong though!)
    Amy

    • The doctor at the weight management clinic suggested that I try splitting a 200 calorie snack up half before a workout and half after a workout since I have been stuck in the 250’s since March with my weight loss.
      When I measure my grapes I usually do it on a scale by weight… however the guide I got the suggestions from origially said in a measuing cup filled to 1cup twice with grapes (not allowing the grapes to go over the top of the cup) was approx 100 calories it sounded like too much too me too, but i guess te size of the grapes have a lot to do with it too, and how they are packed.

    • That sounds really delish!!! I think I will have to try that as soon as my Bananas ripen… it seems my buying habits fall when they swap all the ripe ones for the green ones every week!

  4. My two favorite snacks:

    Liquid egg whites cooked in a mug in the microwave with about a tablespoon of fat free cottage cheese. I whisk the uncooked egg whites with the cottage cheese and then zap the whole thing. The egg whites get super fluffy and the cottage cheese turns melty with these little cheese strings (like when you pull up a slice of pizza and the cheese stretches… YUM). The best part about this is it keeps me full for about four hours!

    The second one I got from a Hungry Girl email — plain fat free greek yogurt with some Crystal Light stirred in. I get the Trader Joe’s 80 cal fat free Greek Yogurt packs and stir in a Crystal Light 10 cal pack. My current favorite flavor Cherry Pomegranate. SO GOOD and only 90 calories. Again, I’m usually full for about 3 hours after this! I think it’s all the protein…

Leave a Reply

