In the Dark

“Your story may not have such a happy beginning, but that doesn’t make you who you are. It is the rest of your story, who you choose to be… So, who are you, Panda?” ~Kung Fu Panda 2

In the darkness of the Riverview movie theater, on a Wednesday afternoon,  I wept.

“The only thing that matters is what you choose to be now.” ~Kung Fu Panda 2

I sat quietly and wiped away tears as those around me giggled, and awed at the cute pandamonium on-screen.  Inside my head there was lots of turmoil.  This film struck a chord with me.

When I think about the last trip back to my parents house, having to face all the emotional baggage tied to where I went to school and the horrible life I left behind there, I can’t help but wonder if I am running from that.  Thinking about it I know that I am not running.  I made my choices, and I have owned up to and faced down every decision I have made.  Good, bad, or indifferent I have taken my licks in life.  I continue to get up every day and make the choices I do to continue moving forward with my life to find my happy place, to get to where I want need to be!  For the last few years I have tried to live by what I saw in My Big Fat Greek Wedding…”Don’t let your past dictate who you are, but let it be part of who you will become.” I think I have done this… and this movie just serves as another reminder to keep going.

We may be the result of our experiences in life.  My parents have expressed their apologies for so many of the things that had gone wrong, or went on during my childhood and adolescence.  I have moved past a lot of it.  As I move forward with this journey to be my most awesome self, on my very own incredible journey, I know I get to choose who I am.  I get to choose who my family is.  I get to choose who I want to be.

My path is not written in stone.  My destiny was not determined when they told me “you cannot do this or that”.  They did not yet write the final act in the life and times of Kris I wasn’t doomed to a life without friends, and without fitness or love or laughter.  So let today be your day to grab ahold of something new in your life.  Give it a try!  What do you have to lose? That movie was a reminder that we are not born into where we end up in life, we get to choose.  The time to make that choice is now.  Make your move!

2 thoughts on “In the Dark

Leave a Reply

