10 Years

10 years ago today I woke up and thought I was still in a nightmare. The tv station out of New York I watched every morning showed footage of the World Trade Center with smoke rolling out of it.  I thought it was old footage… then the second plane hit and I was in shock.

150 miles outside of New York City I sat scared wrapped in my blankets calling my family who were only 65 miles from NYC.  I told people to get to the TV.  The day unfolded as we all remember, and the history books were written.

I remember the fears I had flying just a few weeks after 9-11.  The military men with their machine guns lined the airports, not when I left but when I returned.  I still recall the smell of New York City as I walked around Ground Zero in November.  It still smelled like smoke.  The city was covered in ash and debris.

I am overwhelmed by all of the 9-11 coverage taking place this week.  It hits closer to home than I imagined it would.  I have friends and family defending this country, and I honor them, and thank them for everything they do for this country.

I will take a moment this morning to honor those lives lost at the WTC, Pentagon, and Shanksville, Pa.  I will also take the time to honor those who ran in when everyone else ran out! Thank you to the FDNY and all the supporting responders!  You are not forgotten in all this.

Leave a Reply

