Shadows

Tuesday night and all day Wednesday the winds of change blew though Minneapolis. Not changes from within but the change of season. I slept with he window open Tuesday night. The cool autumn air blew through my apartment welcoming a new season. The season of chai, pumpkin spice latte’s, and my beloved blannket season.
To me there is something so inviting about a chilly room and a warm fuzzy blanket. I get excited about fall. It has to be my favorite season.
Wednesday morning I indulged in a bit of post morning water aerobics sauna time to warm my core up before heading home to bed. It was time well spent. As my body emerged into the crisp autumn air I felt relaxed and ready for bed but also ready to face the day.
Wednesday evening I indulged a bit, a movie at our local gem. The Riverview Theater. If you live in the Twin Cities and have never been, it is a great little place. This cute littke movie theater isn’t terribly far from my home so I headed out for a walk and took in a show.
During my walk home, in the amazing moonlight, my shadow danced. My mind danced too. I thought about how lucky I am to have found such an amazing city to live in. A city that brought me to life! I would have never imagined going out for a walk in my old life, let alone walking to a destination. That is why we have cars!
I reached an intersection and looked at my shadow. It was all around me. Literally I was standing at a crossroads looking at my shadows in clockface. Parts of my life all come together in me. I pressed forward with my walk home. The crisp fall air chilling my face, my jacket making that whoosh whoosh noise I have grown to know so well after a winter full of layers.
I think I am going to like my new life, walks in the cool fall air, I can’t wait for the leaves to start changing. What will Minnehaha falls look like in the winter? So many treasures are waiting in this new life. Thanks mother nature, this week has been perfection!

5 thoughts on “Shadows

  1. yet another thing that we share…I loveeee fall!!!!

    Tonight I walked outside and I could feel it in the wind as the season blew in, I heard the leaves rustle, felt the gust of cooler wind and will enjoy the nice cool temps tomorrow that are predicted

  2. Mal and I went for a short walk at the Falls two years ago, in October, and it was breathtaking. The walk was short, as we were heavier and in worse health then. I hope to go back for another walk this year. It would be a great place for us to consider doing a photo walk, yes? πŸ™‚

    Also, loooved the image in my mind of your “shadow dancing”. Reminds me of an old Andy Gibb song. And gotta love the longer shadows we see as the cooler weather sets in.

    • Still not up to snuff, backed out of a gym date and dinner plans tonight, which is very out of character. Working on a blog about being sick… this bout of sickness is awful!
      Would love to chat soon! Miss you, have been thinking about you tons! (hugs)

Leave a Reply

