How Do You Like Them Apples?

Apple Behold! My beloved apple!  Sweet and tart, better than any Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, or Snickers Bar.  Certainly more satisfying than a handful than Candycorn, or those little pumpkins!  This is my favorite time of year!  It is Apple season!  This year I would love to make it out to one of Minnesota’s many orchards, but for now I am stuck with the apples I can find at my local farmers markets and grocery stores.  Not that there is anything wrong with the apples from the store, or the farmers markets, but there is something about fall and being in the cool crisp air at the orchard.

I grew up with apple trees in my back yard.  I only remember eating the apples from them maybe once or twice, they mostly fed the deer, but I remember the smell of fall and the crunch of the leaves the look of the apples on the trees.  It takes me back to a simpler time I suppose.

So my apple kick started a few weeks ago knowing that my beloved Honeycrisps would soon appear.  I started in on the Zestars after my summer of mediocre apples left me hungry for something better.  Zestar apples were created locally right here at the University of Minnesota so I was ever so happy to discover them!

During the peak of Honeycrisp season I average about 3 apples a day.  If 1 a day keeps the doctor away three has to be better right?  Do you have a favorite apple?  Or a seasonal fruit or veggie that you just stuff yourself full of?  It certainly beats stuffing myself like a pinata this time of year with the kiddie mix that was to be destined for the Trick-or-treaters.

So aside from my apple post, many of you have noticed a distinct lack of updates here on my blog of late.  A few tweets and a quick Facebook update lt you know that I was sick.  So here is a lowdown just to catch you up.  I started out with a sinus cold that moved into a chest cold just after my Labor Day trip to Chicago.  My body has been fighting that and continues to.  I am slow to recover from any kind of sickness.  Monday morning I apparently started with symptoms of an intestinal bug and it is still with me as of Wednesday night.

This bug has certainly kicked by ass!  I have almost no energy.  I wake up, do a few things, and then need a nap.  I am not used to having this little energy.  This is also making my body so sore. I keep wanting to push myself to go and do things and I know that I need to allow my body the time it needs to get the sickness out of its system.  I just feel like I am spending so much of my time waiting for my body to catch up to my mind anymore.  It sucks… but I guess it is what it is.

3 thoughts on “How Do You Like Them Apples?

  1. Hang in there an be sure to let your self rest. IT is essential to let yourself heal before you push yourself to much. Now mind you this from the woman who is sick and still going to work with no voice as a teacher. Hang in and get some rest. As far as apples go anything this time of year from the orchards are great, non orchard apple I enjoy a fuji apple

  2. I’m sorry you’ve been sick…I know how miserable and frustrating that is!

    I adore honeycrisps as well! There is an orchard near us and we stop there at least once a week to stock up!

Leave a Reply

