Get Vegucated

The exterior of Minneapolis, MN's Riverview Th...

Image via Wikipedia

So if you live in my neighborhood you likely know about our local theater.  The gem hidden in the city known as The Riverview Theater.  It is a theater that dates back to the 1940’s if you can believe it!  (Cue Eddie Izzards comedic bit about no one being alive back then because Americans by and large don’t respect our own history).  I love this theater!  I have raved about it before on my blog here, it is easy walking distance from where I live (a little over a half mile).  They have by far the best popcorn in the city, I save my calories when I am going so I can have the popcorn.  They use real butter not that artificial crap, and they have this cheesy powder you can put on it that reminds me of Kernal Seasons but is better, less salty.

Anyway there is a reason I bring up my beloved theater.  I am there a few times a month, catching movies as they bump from first run theaters (think AMC and Regal) to the second run theaters.  Last week I saw Rise of the Planet of the Apes and Crazy Stupid Love for $3.00 a piece.  What I really enjoy though is when they have special events.  Months ago they did a fundraiser called Can’t Stop The Serenity.  They screened Dr Horribles Sing along Blog, Serenity, and The Guild.  It costs a bit more than the $3.00 but it is a nice night out.  They also bring more independent movies to the neighborhood, and that is what I am interested in.

Monday night at 7PM the Riverview is screening one of those off beat indie movies.  I have never heard about Get Vegucated before.  When the schedule for the week came out and I saw it was going to be playing I knew I had to investigate it further.  Directly from the synopsis on the website it describes the film as “A feature-length documentary that follows three meat- and cheese-loving New Yorkers who agree to adopt a vegan diet for six weeks.” As someone who is constantly looking for more information about the world of food and nutrition I thought it sounded interesting.

So Monday I will have my morning workout at 5:30AM  going home to bed and then doing my afternoon workout, and then head directly to the theater for this screening.  I wanted to extend an invitation to anyone in the Twin Cities (or well anywhere really, come to Minneapolis and see this film, or see it when it screens near you!) to come join me for the movie!

I don’t know much about the film like I said but I figure there have been so many food documentaries over the last few years like Food Inc. and Supersize Me that this would prove to be an interesting watch!  Let me know if you are coming and we can grab coffee or a walk before hand!

 
Facebook Page for Vegucated
Twitter for Vegucated

8 thoughts on “Get Vegucated

  1. Pingback: Consider Me Vegucated! | Kris's Journal to Health

Leave a Reply

