Lookout world! Being the Change.

Gandhi says, “Be the change you want to see in the world.” As I have made my way along in this journey I tried to make lasting changes in my life. I have always tried to treat others with respect. I try to push for a better life for myself, and help others get there.
One thing I have found during my evolution is my “revolution”. By this I mean I really find myself wanting to become educated about things I wasn’t as into before. I want to see all sides of stories like Get Vegucated. Wednesday I went to see a documentary called Miss Representation. It opened my eyes a bit more to some things in my own life that I may do or say that aren’t as positive for women and girls in the future.
I find these types of outings to be beneficial more often than not because even if I end up not agreeing with a film’s message or feeling that it is a bit unbalanced, or missing a piece of the puzzle I can generally find something in it that sparks a question about my own life.
I am not one to push an agenda, that isn’t why I blog as but I want to be part of the change in the world by doing my part. Whether it is drinking out of reuseable water bottles to reduce the amount of waste in landfills or eating food that I know is grown and treated in a way consistent with what I want. If I can volunteer my time to help someone, shape a future, or make today brighter I want to do that. I need to do that.
Losing weight is changing my life in so many ways that I just had no idea it would. The lasting impact small changes have had on me are proof to me that anything is possible and inspire me to keep pushing.
I am not sure what change I would like to see in the world, but I know the changes I have seen in myself during this journey and if that’s an indication, lookout world, things they are a changin’ for the better!

Leave a Reply

