Weekend in a Flash

So as I posted Sauturday I went to the #PFGMeetup! It was *awesome*  I am so blessed to live so close to so many amazing people.  Even before the meeting got started my day started out phenominally because a few of the ladies and I went out to breakfast!  I parked 2 blocks away from the diner close to the coffee shop figuring that the walk would do me some good to get my blood flowing that early in the morning.  As I walked up to the diner I thought about a time in my life when I would never have even contemplated parking even half a block away from where I needed to go let alone intentionally parking 2 blocks away!  I smiled as the sun beamed down on me and I walked up the sidewalk in that crisp morning air.

As we sat looking over the menu at the Uptown Diner in Minneapolis, things like Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough pancakes and Kamakazie French Toast looked awesome… however we are all members of the #fat2fitpack not the fit2fatpack so all those options were removed from the table.  (Truth be told, if anyone actually wanted those things it wold have been okay, but really do you want that sitting in your gut all morning? No!)  I ended up with an egg white scramble with veggies in it, and a side of fresh fruit.  It was really good, I topped it with sriracha and franks red hot, because I am a hot sauce junkie!  I just love it on eggs, and well most everything.  A few other things that ended up on the table included hearty oatmeal, and an egg white florentine omelet.

The five of us had smaller side conversations, and bigger group conversations, it was super low key and awesome to be surrounded by amazing healthy people.  My wish for the future of the weightloss and blogging community is that people find eachother the way that Jen, a priorfat girl has helped to bring the people here in the city together, and also the way the #f2fpack has brought people together as well.

The actual #PFGMeetup had an awesome turnout!  I saw people who truly looked like they had been through a reinvention from last month.  It is amazing when you see someone that has grabbed onto the zest for life and is embracing the changes.  We talked about all kinds of things, from how to handle the holiday meal, (Thanksgiving in particular, but the tips, tricks, and trends carry through all eating holidays) to upcoming races.  W had large group discussions and smaller group mingling.

I talked about all the cooking I have done recently in preperation for staying on track for Thanksgiving.  I brough along one of my desserts, a tried and true successful crustless pumpkin pie that I have made the last few years.  It went over well.  It is in the Hungry Girl Recipe book as Wayne’s Punpkin Smash but I will share it here with you incase you tried it and would like to make it for your holiday feast!
Crustless Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients:
One 15-oz. can Pure Pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling!)
One 12-oz. can Evaporated Fat-free Milk
1/2 cup fat-free Liquid Egg Substitute (like Egg Beaters Original)
3/4 cup Splenda No Calorie Sweetener (granulated)
2 tsp. Pumpkin Pie Spice

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, and mix thoroughly.

Place mixture in a baking dish (8″ X 8″ works well but you can cook it in a pie plate) sprayed lightly with nonstick spray, and bake in the oven for 45 minutes. (It will remain a little soft, like pie filling.)

Once ready to serve (hot or cold), cut into 9 pieces. MAKES 9 SERVINGS (Store leftovers in the fridge)

After the meetup technically ended (noon-ish) Kat, Runa, Amanda & I chatted outside the coffee shop for a while.  Eventually Kat, Runa and I decided to take the chat to a lunch meeting, and headed off for lunch at Punch Pizza.  I don’t usually do pizza, so this was an awesome treat for me!  I savored every bite and enjoyed the conversation.  I finally parted with my Meetup company for the day around 5pm.  It had been a long day.  I didn’t want it to end.  The conversations always seem to just flow and the hours dissapear when I am with these people.  It rocks!

Sunday was less exciting, much sleep was had, my knee felt like someone inflated a balloon inside of it.  I am unsure what is up with that, the rest of me is in qite a bit of pain as well.  My #c25k run did not happen.  I have learned to respect my body and not push when these things start happening.  In doing so I figured out I have been edging into a flare for a few days.  I haven’t had one in a while… atleast not one like this.  My body is swollen, physically.  my joints (ankles in particular) are seperating.  I did go workout Monday morning in the pool.  I am afraid to stop moving.  I worry if I stop I will never start again.

My friends have been amazing at reaching out to me to find out if I need anything.  The support from everyone has been better than anything else.  Knowing I am not alone, and not being able to forget that helps a lot.  I am not throwing a pity party over this.  I am throwing an #itGetsBetter party so to speak.  I am resting, and pushing myself to move even though it hurts.  I am tracking my food, and doing what I need to to stay on track.

No one said this was going to be easy.  So this week… we take it one day at a time, and see what I can accomplish.

Now a few photos from my weekend…

veggieCurry

Vegetarian Curry

CoconutWaterVeggieCurry

Sobe Coconut water *thumbs up!*

BreakfastCrew

Breakfast Club... but Better!

PFGmeetupgroup1

#PFGMeetup Discussion

KrisandMel

Kris and Mel being... weird

KrisandJen

Me, Future Priorfatgirl and Jen, a PriorFatGirl

(Last photo, of Jen and I was taken by Jen, and is her property! But I totally stole it to put up here cuz we are mega-cute!)

5 thoughts on “Weekend in a Flash

  1. Pingback: Holiday Weekend Recap | Twelve in Twelve

Leave a Reply

