What do you Think?

Pizza & Fries

Image by Mr. Ducke via Flickr

I am curious as to what you think about Congress declaring that Pizza and French Fries being veggies!

I think it’s absolute crap, but the child makes the decision when they are in line at school in the cafeteria as to what they are going to pick for lunch.  So parents/guardians need to take an active role in educating kids in making the right decisions about food.

I also feel as though a lot of the shock that is happening shouldn’t be.  Do parents not realize that these foods are served to their kids at school?  Do you not pay attention to what your kids eat at school?  If not perhaps you should think about sending lunch to school.  Controlling what goes into their bodies at younger ages may help them make better choices when they are older.  More fruits and veggies, less processed junk.

Most people found it almost insane that I had never had a Twinkie or a HoHo until I was nearly 28.  I was seriously overweight, but I had never had those things.  When I finally had them I didn’t understand the big deal, I actually thought they were pretty gross.  I can tell you though that when I bought my lunches at school my parents always knew what was being served and would ask what I had that day.  I wasn’t allowed to pick the pizza option because if they found out I got the pizza that would be the end of my buying lunch days.

Pizza and fries are not veggies.  I know many adults that are THRILLED to hear that the government is calling them veggies, because this means they are eating veggies.  My heart breaks for these people, and for their future.  You cannot live a healthy life on pizza fries and grilled cheese.  You cannot raise your kids on just these foods.  They should be viewed as a treat and consumed in moderation and accompanied by some veggies and fruit… real veggies!

So what do you all think?  Is Congress right in determining that pizza  and fries are veggies?  Does the responsibility here need to fall on the parent/guardian and childs relationship to teach them to make better choices? Did you buy lunch as a kid/teen?  Were you a pizza everyday person? Do you know adults who will be happy to hear that pizza and fries are veggies? I want to hear it!

3 thoughts on “What do you Think?

  1. I had not heard about this yet but it sounds like a bunch of garbage! Shame on the schools, the government & parents. My mom always packed me a four course lunch… Main dish, a friut, a veggie, and a little dessert.

    I’m going to look into this further, and I’ll be back! Thanks for spreading the word, Kris!

  2. Kris, I love you. We had the same experience. I had to bring bag lunches and to get “hot lunch” was a treat because per my mom, it was junk food. Yet I was always overweight even though we ate very well compared to all my friends. You’re right, those things are not veggies, and it’s sad that people are so miseducated.

  3. Utter crap. And it’s all kow-towing to the lobbyists! I hate to think that our leaders would sell our health–and our children’s health–to the highest bidder. But, yeah, they (Congress that is–I did read that the President was very much against this) will–and did.

Leave a Reply

