Aparently WP Eats Blogposts

Over the weekend I wrote a blog.  A nice long blog recapping my trip east.  It was a little emotional, and a bit personal.  I included the highlights, such as my trip to the mountains, and outlet shopping with my Aunt, and catching up with long-lost friends(11 or 12 years had passed since I saw one).  It also included things I had learned from seeing an ex-boyfriend whom I had not set eyes on in 11 years or so.  (Let’s just say from the moment I saw him again it was clear why things did not work out!)

Where did this blog go?  I have no idea, this is the second time it has happened to me.

This blog also addressed my feelings about the recent departure of some of my favorite bloggers from the blog world.  JP and Lindsay over at PriorFatGirl.com have both decided (along with Ali, whom I never really had much of a chance to get to know) that it is time to step away from blogging.  We all knew this was coming.  The updates became few and far between, lives get busy, and life puts things on the back burner.  I never, however, expected to get emotional about someone deciding that blogging was no longer going to be a part of their lives.  It feels almost like a friendship is ending.  I know that isn’t the case exactly as I have friendships with both of them outside of the blog world, however it kind of makes me look inward a bit.

I appreciate when people share their lives with me, their ups and downs, their successes and struggles.  I also understand that there come times when sharing needs to go on the back burner.  When you need to focus on the tasks at hand.  Putting your relationships with *whatever* needs to come first.  Whether it is your job, or school, your child or your spouse there are things that are priorities in life.  I am so pleased to see Lindsay and JP taking the steps in their lives to know that blogging just isn’t a good fit for them right now.

Blogging is a tool for so many of us in the weight-loss and healthiness communities and I think sometimes we forget that.  Blogging becomes a chore for some.  Something that you have to do, you are obligated.  I Hope Ali, Lindsay and JP find success on their paths, and that is my wish for all the long abandoned blogs I follow.  I continue to check back on people week after week, month after month.  Leaving an encouraging word, or just a nudge to let someone know we are still thinking of them.  Not asking for an update, but letting them know that there are still people out there cheering for them.

So WordPress, thanks for eating my long well thought out blog, I had nice farewells for my blogger friends, and you made them vanish…

Bah Humbug!

3 thoughts on “Aparently WP Eats Blogposts

  1. I am SO glad that’s never happened to me at blogspot. I would be so crushed! I’m sorry! I must believe that the words will come back when they’re ready.

  2. Well – I tweeted you today but what I meant to say was…. “I’m thinking about you.” So I hope you had a great Christmas holiday – I can’t wait to read about it, if you decide to share it. Meanwhile, I am sending SO MANY warm wishes and thoughts to you, Kris! 🙂

Leave a Reply

