Welcome to 2012

Well hello there little blog, and my dear friends.  I sit here looking at the blinking cursor after a very long night at work.  The days draw longer as I near a new chapter in my life.  Or what I hope is a new chapter in my life.  As I enter 2012 I am setting forth a few mini goals.

2012-01-01_09.26.52.jpg

My goals are not so much resolutions as “Declarations of Dedication” More of the same things that I have been doing, only bigger and better.  Towards the end of 2011 I got lazy, I got off track.  I stopped tracking again, I slacked off at the gym.  The excuses started to pile up.  I felt like I had no one to be accountable to, which is a load of horse crap if I ever did know one.

The only real thing that I want to make sure that I change this year is that I want to make this year injury free.  I spend so much of my life in pain already dealing with my various funkadelic illnesses that I truly don’t need to keep adding problems to it!  I need to take the time to stretch before and after my workouts.  I need to take the proper vitamins and supplements for my body.

I also need to be more aware of my surroundings.  As I went into work this morning to finish up some paperwork that I postponed during my shift last night to avoid being on the roads at that ever popular bar closing time I found this…

2012-01-01_09.05.14.jpg

Now if you can’t tell that staircase is loaded with a nice layer of ice.  The parking lot was tons worse where the cars and trucks had been in and out of the lot during the night as the snow fell.  I didn’t think twice as I tried to go up the center of the stairs without the use of the railing.  Duh Kris!  Use the railing!  I searched for some salt, unsuccessfully!  I also almost went ass over teakettle on my own stoop going out to my car this morning as well.  I need to slow down and look around.

So as I step into 2012 I am going to take things one step at a time.  Look around me and make sure I am setting myself up for success.  I would like to be in the low 200’s by this time next year.  My finish line ideally is 199.  I am not under any delusions that it is going to be easy, because god knows that it has certainly not been easy up to this point.

I want to leave you with this thought though as so many people are taking today, or tomorrow to finally start their diets.  You can do anything you put your mind to.  You may fail 99 times, but you have to get up 100 to succeed.  Please don’t ever give up on what you want out of this life.  You only get one shot at living and you have the power to create yourself.  It starts with the first step.  Take those steps now!

Happy New Year Everyone!  Welcome to 2012

2012-01-01_00.51.09.jpg

First Steps of 2012

5 thoughts on “Welcome to 2012

Leave a Reply

