5 Year Plan

Where are you going to be in five years?

I personally don’t know where I am going to be five minutes from now.  The idea of knowing where I will be in five years isn’t something that I think about a whole lot.  I mean, yes I have long-term goals.  Move into a slightly larger place, where my dining area consists of more than a tray on the bed.  Where I can have people over for game nights and laughter can fill my home until the wee hours of the morning.  I would love to see myself continue to he happy, and healthy and making smart choices in regards to what I eat and the activities that I engage in.

So how do I go about starting to plan for my future?  Well readers… I was at the local bookstore searching out a book to read and help me start my New Year right, with a challenge to myself and I found something unexpected.

2012-01-01_11.52.39.jpg
I didn’t go looking for this book. In fact I didn’t even know it existed!  I grabbed it off the recently reduced shelf and started flipping through the pages.  The book is broken up into 5 parts.  Emotional and Physical Health, Family and Relationships, Home and Community, Work and School, and Here I am Again, Building on my Own Experience Up Until Now.

It seems like a pretty awesome way to guide myself into looking at my future in a more concrete light.  It asks you for specifics, measurable and attainable goals. Plus, it is a hardcover book that you write in… that always makes me feel like a rebel!  ~dun dun breakin the law breakin the law dun dun~

So after only a few moments of deliberation I knew I needed to have this book and that it was meant for me.  Afterall part of this years #DoD was that I am writing in my 5-year journal.  One entry in my paper journal everyday, even if it isn’t anything particularly meaningful. Observations, quotes, thoughts, it all counts.  I looked at the shelf space where I had taken the book from and saw there was one copy remaining and decided that I wanted to share this book with someone else.

That is where you come in!  Do you have a 5 year plan?  Is it written down?  Are you interested in setting yourself up for success in the next 5 years?  I can’t guarantee that it will work for you, but we could do it together!  So I am giving you the chance to win my second copy of this book.

Here is the deal, Winner will be selected by random.org on 1/13 because I like the number 13! Several ways to enter, but you have to do the mandatory one to be entered at all. Winner will be contacted and have until 1/16 to respond or another winner will be chosen.

Mandatory Entry… I am taking a question directly from the book… Please answer in a comment below (and include contact information incase you win)

“If I were describing myself in the third person as a character in a novel, this is what I would say:”

Other ways to enter…

  • Tweet about my giveaway
  • Blog about my giveaway

Be sure to leave a separate comment on this post for each entry and make sure I can contact you!

6 thoughts on “5 Year Plan

  1. Meredith is a girl with fire on her tongue and a spark in her step. She will speak a little two quickly before thinking. But, don’t let that turn you off because her spirit, joy of life and love for her friends and family will quickly wash away any doubts. Meredith is working hard to improve her health and build a healthy community around her so she can be here spreading her spark for many years to come.

  2. “If I were describing myself in the third person as a character in a novel, this is what I would say:”

    Manda has a calm, sensitive, and broken heart but also an iron determination, two aspects of her being which are often in conflict with each other. People think her life looks awesome but she never knows why that is. She doesn’t trust herself or ever think she is good enough but she desperately wants to change that. Her five-year plan includes opening to love again, if it’s not too late.

  3. Love this idea by the way…so of I was a character in a novel….She has an amazing smile and laugh the kind that can light up a room, yet sometimes is you look real close they are just a mask she wears to fool people.

    Hence why a goal for me is figuring out how to have the smile be real all the time

Leave a Reply

