Sharing Circle

So in going to my meetings at Weight Watchers I have been forcing myself to talk, or rather, perhaps a better way to phrase it is that I have found myself opening up to the groups I have been with.  Offering suggestions tips and tricks of what has helped me along the way so far.  In my mind I can feel the members that have been there a while rolling their eyes at me, because I am new to their program, but I have been at this a while and have seen measurable success on my own.

I have been going, on average to two meetings a week.  The leader I didn’t care for at first has grown on me, I think it was more the people at that first meeting I didn’t click with, and I think that had more to do with the weather, and the bad parking that weekend in the are around the location, and the fact that I was kind-of ignored and dismissed while I sat there.

I guess one of the things I am really enjoying about the program is actually the meetings.  I like going, and interacting with other people that are trying to do the same thing I am.  It isn’t that I feel alone, or lonely in the battle to get this weight off, I have concluded that there are very few people in the world that have never struggled with weight in one way or another, I just like hearing what others have to say.  I like that it gives me a feeling of community, it sparks my thought process for things like lunches and dinners, even if I don’t take the ideas and use them that week, I know they are planting seeds in the back of my mind for the future.  I also hope that what I have to share, in insight or past stumbling blocks for myself can help someone else there.  For example we were talking about tracking food last week, and how a “3 month tracker” which is a paper tracker shouldn’t last more than 3 months.  I use an electronic tracker now.  When I first started I used paper.  I liked paper, it was safe, I could erase things, I could reward myself on the paper with stickers if I was under my caloric goal for the day.  I had a whole system that I used, and it worked for me.  Eventually I went electronic because it was faster, and easier… and easier meant I could be lazier! Eventually I stopped tracking and I was one of those people who could have made that 3 month tracker last a year! I am bring very diligent and deliberate now with my tracking, and I know if one isn’t working I need to switch to the other.  I offered the hint/tip that I learned from a PriorFatGirl event about recording life events, special occasions, thoughts and feelings in the margins of your tracker.  It helps when you look back to identify patterns and stumbling blocks.  Everyone seemed to really like that idea, so I know that I am offering the group something not just taking.

However I can’t help but feel like I am playing teachers pet when I talk.  I am certainly not trying to be, but I want to be helpful to others where I can be.  So I hush myself, until I know that I have something that is truly helpful and applicable to everyone in the room, or a goodly majority and then I go from there.

Do you go to meetings? Do you talk?  Do you feel like you talk too much? How do you strike a balance with it? I would love to know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Sharing Circle

  1. I know you feel like you are playing teachers pet and standing out when you talk but GIRL you go to these meetings for yourself. You need to listen and learn but when you feel the need to share your experience, ask a question, or teach a lesson you have learned throughout your journey… you have to speak up!

    If they have a problem, too bad. Get some confidence and try putting other people’s thoughs (that they might not even be having about you) aside. It doesn’t matter. Go and do your thing, as long as you are being respectful of others, it doesn’t matter. You need to get the most out of these meetings as possible.

    And it seems like talking is helping you, going to the meetings is beneficial and working for you, so just do it! 🙂

    Keep working hard.

  2. The more I engage meetings, the more I get out of my meetings, but it means sometimes I feel like I talk to much. Of course I’m always the teacher’s pet type in all classes, but it works for me. Do what works for you!

  3. I suppose it’s different strokes for different folks as I prefer the meetings where people are not encouraged to talk. I like the funny, creative leaders who fill up the meetings with lots of stories and tips and celebrations of the people who have lost weight that week. I went to one meeting where the leader asked a question and then went around the room getting each person’s response. When she asked the second question, I left.

    I do know that I can ask questions either before or after the meeting of either my leader or the receptionists if it is something really important. 🙂

Leave a Reply

