Excitement

So what makes my little bradycardic heart go pitter patter? When I find something new and

Lemon Plum, ripening

Lemon Plum, ripening

fun at the grocery store! Anything from a new product on the shelves or a new recipe I get excited! However it seems rare-er and rare-er these days that I find new fruits and veggies these days that I have never seen or heard of before.

This week I nearly lept over a few people to learn what this pictured fruit was.  More than the “Next great potato chip flavor” from Lays, or the latest new burger combo from Burger King I am googling to learn about this fruit!  I cannot wait to feel the flesh burst under my teeth and the juices flow into my mouth.  Perhaps it is more that I miss summer, and the juicy fruits and wealth of produce that it brings.  The wait to try this fruit is killing me!

I have had so much underwhelming produce lately it nearly breaks my heart.  The other night I ate some starchy bananas, that left my tongue sore. My grapes have been small and sour, my apples are mediocre and the ones I like, expensive.  I spend more money buying the better apples so that I will enjoy them, the Opal apples the Lady Alice apples even honey crisp apples, but they just aren’t up to snuff.  Strawberries and blueberries are okay, but not as good as can be, the quality is just so hit and miss with them.

I am ready for summer, farmers markets, the warm sunshine on my skin.  I am ready for the smell of fresh tomatoes, and … dirt. I am hopeful perhaps some of my friends with larger kitchen space will share their spaces this summer and let me come cook for them.  Let me amaze them with me culinary capabilities to wow everyone.  *shruggs*

Have you tried anything new lately? Is there something in season that I shouldn’t miss?  Do you have a favorite produce gem this time of year that I should be trying?  Frozen and canned seems to be the way to go in the winter… but I am Freezer Burnt here in Minnesota.

4 thoughts on “Excitement

  1. I know what you mean about the produce up here this time of year. I’m also in Minnesota, and I can’t wait until spring and summer!

    I haven’t really tried anything that would be considered new to most people, but I’ve been trying to expand my horizons with vegetables over the past year, and I’ve discovered that I really like sweet potatoes and I’m even starting to like squash. I never used to be a fan of either, but I guess my tastes are changing! This year I want to try a few more new things, so we’ll see what happens!

    ~Elaine

    • I grew up eating a TON of zucchini, and squash. I remember one year having so much of it it was literally a case of, come to the house leave with 2 or 3 or 10! We would slice it up and make it into appetizers with melted cheese and garlic on it, bake it into bread, saute it into sausage casserole.
      I have found my tastes have changed as I have changed my eating in respect to fruit, I never used to eat honeydew or cantaloupe. I despised it, now I eat it several days a week if I can get my hands on it. I buy the mixed fruit bowls from the store and ration that out for a few days during the week for a breakfast treat. It is truly amazing that the better you feed your body the more your body adapts and learns that it wants the good for you stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

