#Fitbloggin Friday!

My brain is yelling at me because I have not recapped my #fitbloggin trip yet. I know there is nothing forcing me to do so… My computer has not let me pull the photos from the dead batteried camera yet… mostly because I have to attach an external keyboard to the computer to get the keyboard to work… its in desperate need to fixing. I can do most everything these days from my iPad… but anyway. Fitbloggin Friday!!!
You all know I sleep some REALLY screwy hours, and moving myself to pacific time from central time (so -2hours) only added to the weirdness of my schedule. One of my roomies came in somewhere late Thursday night/Friday morning from a bar… shortly after that I was up… for the day. I had the iPad in the bed with me just incase that was going to happen. I pulled my Blanket up over my head and watched tv for a few hours as truly I did not figure I would find anyone up wandering around at 3 am. (In hindsight I will just take my iPad and hang out on the floor where the conference is taking place incase someone else is up!) Friday was going to be my BIG conference day. I knew there were TONS of sessions about to go down. I had wanted to attend ReeBok’s cardio dance class, however I also knew that I NEEDED to go to Zumba. they were not running at the same time, so my original plan was to do both, feel the burn, but with my legs the way they are and the threat of the tendon rupture on the horizon I skipped out on cardio dance and had a leisurely breakfast with my my new and old friends.
The hotel (The Nines in Portland) did a freakin Amazing job with food. They provided us with egg fritatta, bacon (which was probably some of, if not THE best bacon I’ve ever had), potatoes, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, coffee, tea, juices. Everything was amazing. It was so easy to find something tasty to eat, and it was all hot, even though it was served buffet style which was nice.
I rushed off to the first session on my MUST NOT MISS list for the day which was Dealing With Injuries I was a few minutes late to the session because I couldn’t find the room, which made me feel horrible, but that is apparently an acceptable thing to come and go from the sessions.
I linked above tot he live blog of the session, I refrained from taking notes during the conference for just this reason. Fitbloggin is AMAZING because they have live bloggers in the sessions. This made me completely comfortable in my decision to live the conference, and be in the moments, listen, respond, not be on my phone, or in my notebook. Next year I will be leaving my study supplies at home altogether! This session made me a bit teary to be honest. I felt the pain each of my fellow athletes felt dealing with injuries, new and old that kept them from meeting their goals, or feeling whole. I felt less alone in that room than I have in a long time. I know that in my experiences dealing with something that is a genetic issue will leave me on a different playing field than most. I am slowly coming to terms with the fact that there are so many things that I want to do that i just will not be able to do like everyone else does, however I draw strength from the fact that I can find a way to do them my own way. Listening to people talk of the ways that they have found to keep going was inspiring.
For me I will never run again. The talk of people who run 5k’s 10k’s half marys and more was a bit depressing because i will never be able to get a medal for crossing the finish line for something like that… but you know what… I can do all those virtual races I want, and use the elliptical, or the pool and do them that way. *deep breath* We needed tissues in that room. Next year I’ll bring enough for all the sessions to have boxes of tissues.

The next session I was headed for was ZUMBA!!!!!! I was scared… and excited! I have wanted to try Zumba for so long but I was so afraid I would fail… I did not fail… i may not have been super coordinated but I kicked ass! Again the live blog is linked above, and I have actually blogged once already about my experience with this Zumba class. It broke me. There was a change in me with this class, I don’t know if it was the fitbloggin tribe effect, or that I finally did something that scared me or what but it was exactly what this trip was about. Just watch what happens next. If you want to see a bit about what this Zumba session was like instead of reading the liveblog (because you truly can’t even get a sense of the energy from text check out Martinus 300lbs and Running’s Recap which includes a video! (I am visible in the video). I had to laugh when I saw this video because when I saw him videoing during class I got so freakin nervous and then decided so what!! It was empowering. I have to admit when Sue pointed at me during class, I about lost my shit! I was doing my thing and having fun and apparently I was doing it right 😀 . It was awesome!!
After Zumba was our Midmorning snack break! The sponsor was NatureMade Vitamins they were making snowcones!!! Just perfect after a hot and sweaty zumba workout. the cold ice was just what the doctor ordered. I had my ice with almost no syrup since I am just not a super sugary person. I also chugged down a carton of chocolate milk with Team Refuel which was another sponsor of Fitbloggin I was relaxing a bit before I headed off to hit the showers since my roomie Mer was also in Zumba and had actually wanted to hit a session that was before my next must not miss session!
After showers and a bit of introvert recharge time it was time for a fitbloggin first… a fashion show!! Now as most of you know by now I am not the most fashion forward person. I spent most of my adult life in jeans and mens pocket t-shirts. We do not need to show that I have a shape, we just need to hide that mess! As I have become smaller things have changed a bit, but I still pull out a pocket tee now and then… (but you will note that there is a photo of Kenlie and I in the same shirt… how embarrassing! we wore the same thing! Oh NO!) Anyway the fashion show was put together by Emmie of Authentically Emmie Who I admire to a crazy degree! (when I saw her in the lobby on Thursday I was like OHMIGOSH I KNOW YOU!!! And I about died when she knew who I was. It was so awesome to see so many women of all different shapes and sizes rocking out in all different kinds of clothing. Several women were even modeling bras! I know I would totally be down for that.. (stay tuned) I have to give them all props for putting themselves out there. It was awesome. The fashion show took place during lunch, which was also provided by the hotel (deli meat, roasted portobello mushrooms, some salads, fruit).
After the fashion show was the group photo, taken by CarrieD photography. i love group photos. Usually I would duck out of them, or make sure I am hidden, or somewhere that I can crop myself out of them easily. It is a self esteem thing. This time I just looked for a place I could sit, since squatting is not an option and didn’t really budge too much as people filled in around me. Turns out I ended up….. Well… Take a look for yourself…. Can you find me?

20130714-081346.jpg

LOL! Go figure right? I have that photo currently set as the desktop on my work computer, my tribe. I look at the photo and see so many faces I talked to, and so many I didn’t get to, which is a shame but is not surprising.
Next up on my MUST NOT MISS list turned out to be a swing and a miss… it was the Reebok How to find the perfect shoe session. I was on my way when I stoped to chat with Emmie, and someone that was there who was sponsored by Quest Protein Bars Earlier in the day he had slipped me their latest flavor creation WHITE CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY!!! After finding out what a mega fan I was. (This flavor has just become available on the website, and should hopefully be in stores soon) It’s amazing by the way, real freakin berries in it! Anyway i chatted with them a while then headed to the session just in time for them to be wrapping up the discussion, about 15 mins ahead of schedule. :/ *insert whomp whomp sound here* Surprisingly I wasn’t at all upset due to the liveblog that I knew would be available, and also due to the fact that I got to spend some quality face to face time with people I never see outside of this event.
The afternoon Coffee break was sponsored by one of my favorite sponsors from the conference Blue Diamond Almonds They were sampling all three of the “newish” Coffee flavored almonds. Coffee, Caramel Macchiato, and Mocha! I personally have had all three before this, and LOVE THEM! I mix the three up into a big bag and eat them in the mornings for a pick me up when I don’t have coffee, or want a quick pick me up. They actually contain caffeine, and some healthy fats and protein which makes them good for you! Balanced eating right?! (I will be making a sponsor post in when I get some down time thanking everyone, and Blue Diamond will get a HUGE shout out because they kept my snacking in control for the conference!)
Sadly at this point of the day I was truly starting to crash out. I slinked off to my room and rested for a while skipping the rest of the afternoon sessions in favor of just resting and recharging. Turns out my roomies were in need of a recharge too, so sleep didn’t actually happen, but rest helps I suppose.
Dinner was on our own Friday night so Liz and I made plans to have a quiet dinner, in hopes of eating something local. Liz and I decided to visit one of the local hotels restaraunts that had some pretty stellar reviews. Bistro921 was the place we ended up at and it was incredible! We split a spinach and artichoke dip, which was amazing, it was so fresh tasting, it was nice and lemony! Each of us ordered a salad with our dinners, I got a Cesar salad, which I almost never order because it is so indulgent, and my entree was a stuffed portobello mushroom cap. Oh my goodness, I wanted to lick the plates! The food was incredible! We had such a nice time sitting and chatting about our enjoyment of the conference so far, and talked about our return next year.

20130714-084120.jpg

20130714-084127.jpg

20130714-084133.jpg
Liz will have had her baby by the time the next conference rolls around and rooming with 2 other ladies will be out of the question. I told her i would be more than willing to room with just her next year, if the conference is in the cards for her. I actually knew from the time I was at the mixer alone that i was going to return, and actually kinda thought I might prefer roomies that I didn’t know to roomies that i did know. I think it might make a more rich experience.
We stopped for some icecream at Ben & Jerrys on the way back to the hotel, I ended p tossing mine out, as after I got my single scoop I decided I wasn’t actually hungry. Listening to my body, Go Kris! While we sat at the shop, outside in the unusual heat I spotted David Who I met Thursday night at the mixer and ran over to assist him with some photography! I introduced him to Liz and we all wandered back to the hotel together. We did not want to be late for Ignite!!!
Ignite!! was super cool, It gave several people a chance to get out there and inspire and share their stories and messages with us. I had thought about submitting myself as an ignite speaker for fitbloggin13 but didn’t as I am chickenshit. However I may just do it for fitbloggin14. You never know what will happen! Believe it or not there was MORE FOOD at the ignite party, Driscolls Berries and Attune Foods had set up a parfait bar for us to have a sweet treat for dessert or before bed! They were also hosting a contest for us to win free berries! How awesome!

20130714-085026.jpg

20130714-085035.jpg
I love berries and the Attune probiotic chocolate, (I am sad they don’t make the vanilla berry one anymore) i made my parfait before the presentations started, and finished it as the karaoke kicked off. I was pretty exhausted and knew Saturday was going to be a super full day during which I would leave the conference and venture to the coast of Oregon with my family whom I hadn’t seen in 17 years so I left before it got to crazy. Next year if there is karaoke… it is SO ON!!!
I headed to my room with a smile on my face, and worked on packing up my suitcase… already. Knowing full well it was going to be hard to leave this place.

2 thoughts on “#Fitbloggin Friday!

  1. Right in the center of the pic!
    Listening to your body’s hunger!
    Shakin’ that booty in Zumba!
    YAY!
    PS I think you would really enjoy rooming with strangers. I did that (four to a room) at my yoga conference in CO, and loved it. Plus when I returned this year, I had a friend to connect with!

    • I think so too, I like the idea of it letting me get to know new people and make better friendships rather than keep me in my comfort zone the whole time. I feel like it stifles my trip a bit. I think next time either one roomie I know, none I know or a room to myself Mwahahahaha

Leave a Reply

